During the launch event of Beta Research School, former TU/e PhD student Eleni Vatamidou was a finalist for the Beta PhD Prize. The Beta PhD Award is awarded to the PhD who defended the best PhD thesis of Beta during the past year. Eleni’s thesis was supervised by the EWM-NL board member, Maria Vlasiou. After a national nomination procedure, the Beta Board selects the finalists, after which the Beta PhD Award committee declares the final winner.